Honor Roll – January 2012

12 01 2012

Challengers across the county are busy earning for expedition, getting their teams featured in local papers, and generally rising to the Challenge.

Expeditions are all about teamwork … however, on every team there are some Challengers that go above and beyond … Introducing the WC Honor Roll!

Emily with her face paintedHonoree – January 2012:  Emily, is an alumni Challenger from Swampscott High School who traveled to Argentina in 2008 and Madagascar in 2010.  She is currently a Sophomore at Boston University and plans to study Spanish, Chinese and Arabic, with hopes of becoming a translator and travel around the world.  While in Madagascar she went lemur spotting on a night trek in Ranomafana National Park; she saw the Iguazu Falls and learned to tango in Argentina.  Before she embarked in her two adventures, Emily paid for both of her World Challenge trips entirely on her own. 

Q:  How did you earn for your expedition?

A:   I was a freshman when World Challenge came to my high school, and I was not about to miss out on it!  The cost of the trip was $5,600, I remember thinking my parents would never go for it.  To my surprise, they thought it would be an excellent experience and encouraged me to learn more about the trip and to find a job.  I got a job as a cashier at Stop and Shop working 10-12 hours a week during the school year so I didn’t fall behind on my work, but worked 5-6 days a week during the summer.

 Breakdown of fundraising

  • Stop and Shop: $4,000
  • Odd Jobs (babysitting, yard work, household chores): $300
  • Total amount: $4,300

Q:  How did you fundraise with your team?

A:  Our team set up several fundraisers to try and earn as much money as we could.  We had a rule that if a person does not participate in the fundraising, they will not receive any of the money made from it.

Breakdown of Team fundraising 

  • Multiple bake sales: $200
  • Friday morning coffee and donuts: $100
  • We bought a soda machine that we put in the teachers room and collected the profits: $350
  • We went to town meetings and sat with a booth explaining our trip and we kindly asked for donations (most parents were enthusiastic to help): $250
  • Asked local businesses for any donations of money or gift cards that we could raffle: $300
  • One team member had season tickets to the Red Sox games and we raffled off several tickets that the family donated: $600
  • Total amount: about $1,800

Q:  Do you have any top tips for other Challengers?

A:  I think the BEST [tip] is to fully embrace the opportunity.  The key to having a great time is to develop close relationships with the other members, be optimistic, daring and adventurous, and bring multiple decks of cards!!

Q:  Overall how has your World Challenge experience impacted your life?

A: My adventure to Argentina is still something that I look back on now in my sophomore year of college, almost 4 years later.  I still talk to all my friends from the trip about how we wish we could go back and relive that magical month.  I know it is cliché to say, but the trip really changed my life.  This trip really opened my eyes to the world and it truly offered me a chance of a lifetime.  I definitely developed the travel bug from because right when I got back I signed up to go to Madagascar with my school two years later.  I certainly believe that my two trips are still influencing my decisions in life, and as I look back now on all my accomplishments, I am so proud to say that was me.  I did it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Do you want to make Honor Roll?  Email us about your successes!


Actions

Information

Leave a comment